Kalan Paletas (Renens, Switzerland)

It has been a while since we talked ice cream here! Time for a quick post on a nice ice cream spot now that it is still summer. I randomly noticed Kalan Paletas when passing through Renens (Vaud) train station. Since we have had some pretty warm weather here, I decided to see if they actually had some vegan ice creams, and yes they do!

Kalan Paletas at Renens train station
The cart is a bit tucked away at the station

Kalan Paletas can be found at Renens train station, every Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday. On Thursday they are in Lausanne at Riponne square, and I believe the ice cream can also be bought in several other places.  I doubt they’ll be open year-round, but I am sure that they will be around for some more months.

Ice creams at Kalan palatas
Ice creams (vegan paletas are marked)

So if you manage to find them, what do they have? Certified organic and fair trade ice cream!  Kalan Paletas brings Mexican paletas to Switzerland. For every ice cream sold, they in turn donate part of the proceedings to NGOs which operate in Mexico.

Dips at Kalan Paletas
Available dips, some are vegan. By the way, how cute is their mascot!

Kalan Paletas offers both vegan and non-vegan options, and the flavours offered are quite special, for example strawberry-mint and hibiscus-raspberry. The ingredients are mostly sourced locally, in Switzerland. The ice cream  or rather Paleta (link https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paletero) are more like ice lollies than gelato.

Ice cream at Kalan Paletas
Orange-Rosemary with black chocolate and nuts dip

You pick the flavour and there is the option of adding some toppings, like nuts and chocolate. I tried several of their flavours and they are very nice!

Type of place: Ice cream
Completely vegan: no
Website (French) :  http://kalanpaletas.ch/

Gelato di Natura (Venice, Italy)

In October the temperatures in Venice were still nice enough to enjoy a gelato. Fortunately there is no lack of gelato counters.

In general the fruity, sorbet-style ice cream has a higher possibility of being vegan, since it is water-based, whereas the creamy flavours tend to be milk-based. In general the cones are not vegan. But it never hurts to ask to be sure; I found that occasionally the fruity flavours still contained milk.

Outside of Gelato di Natura
Gelato Di Natura in Venice
Gelato Di Natura actually mentions on their shop window that they have vegan options. So I had to pop in to verify, of course 🙂 There are several vegan flavours available and their cones were vegan! What was specifically nice was that there was also a creamy flavour (cherry) which was vegan. It was made with either rice or soy milk.
2 gelatos from Gelato Di Natura
We got raspberry/mango/cherry and cherry/dark chocolate !

As an aside, I was a bit surprised that when I asked if the cones were vegan, I got informed it was but that it was not gluten-free. For me veganism and gluten-free eating are completely separate things. Gluten-free is for people with allergies, whereas people that eat vegan do not necessarily have allergies but rather choose to eat animal-free. Anyway, I do not know enough about gluten to know if it naturally appears in ice cream, but if it is something you want to avoid ask the staff about the gluten-free options available.

I understand from their website Gelato di Natura also has counters in Palma de Mallorca (Spain) and Dublin (Ireland), and soon in Denmark!

Type of place: Gelato
Completely vegan: no
Website (Italian, English): http://www.gelatodinatura.com/